Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

achieveA little over a month ago, when I was not sure of my ability to do this morning writing practice because I was leaving on vacation, I promised to leave a  series of quotes for our tech wizard, Mary Pat, to post day by day. I was so satisfied with myself for having completed that task but as I was driving the next morning, I realized that the quotes were still sitting in my computer as I had not sent them to her! Humility is a great virtue and I have learned a lot about it along the way. The best thing about that virtue, I think, is the ability to admit both the great things about oneself and the failures or missteps without agonizing over either. In that spirit, I am going to try again to complete what I didn’t on my first try.

I’m off again today, this time to a long-awaited retreat at Pendle Hill, a Quaker facility near Philadelphia. I am leaving home where we are completing a weekend with a group of wonderful women who have come here seeking to deepen their spiritual lives. In a different time and place, with a different set of circumstances, we are all looking for the same thing. I found the expression of that in a quote this morning from Alan Cohen (A Deep Breath of Life) that I will share as the introduction to the thoughts of others for the rest of his week. May the week be blessed for us all.

There is a part of us that will not let us be content until we become all that we are capable of being. Life is not about resting on our laurels and hanging out in our comfort zone; it is an adventure from good to better to best…Bless your dreams, your desires, and your sense that there must be more. There is more because you are more.

