Tags

, , , , , , , ,

amarch.jpgIn the past 48 hours we have seen in person, on television, the internet or in newspapers a number of very large gatherings of committed people. Some participants simply support the democratic process of the transfer of political power in the United States but the majority were present on Friday and yesterday to raise their voices for or against our new president. We remain a deeply divided country in this way.

Yesterday I was privileged to spend my time with eleven women committed to their spiritual growth, regardless of their political leanings. They chose to come to our event at Genesis Retreat and Conference Center in Westfield, Massachusetts where our exploration centered around “The Wisdom Way of Knowing.” Our goal was consciousness and how we can move toward unity of heart and practice.

I was reminded of this experience by today’s the first reading and the gospel where Jesus repeated Isaiah’s words that the people who walked in darkness have seen a great light. And between those two voices Paul chimed in with words to the Corinthians with his usual vigor: I urge you that there be no divisions among you! But it is in Psalm 27 that I clearly saw a method of movement toward this unifying light. The psalmist declares:

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom should I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom should I be afraid? One thing I ask of the Lord; this I seek, to dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life. Wait for the Lord with courage. Be stouthearted and wait for the Lord.

With these thoughts I begin this new season of our collective life in these United States in the hope that we will move forward with respect and determination to be of good will and openness to all that we encounter. May God bless us all!

