Tags

, , , , , , ,

akneelIt’s always difficult to explain what happens on a retreat. There are the facts, of course: the make-up of the group (here at Glastonbury Abbey in Hingham, Massachusetts from all across the USA, with one person from Canada and one from England), the texts or topics covered, the prayer and worship services…but it is the deepening interactions and the silence that are bring the fruit of the experience to those gathered.

The first reading in today’s lectionary speaks to my desire as I sit this morning trying to put anything of value into words. I’m fairly certain that Paul was feeling as I do now when he wrote the following:

Brothers and Sisters: I kneel before the Father, from whom every family on earth is named, that God may grant you in accord with the riches of his glory to be strengthened with power through the Spirit in the inner self…so that you may be filled with all the fullness of God. (EPH 3:14-21)

I say AMEN and pray that we all may be so blessed on this day.

