Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

aloveheartToday’s Scripture readings, if reflected upon, seem to fit in our present world of philosophical and psychological advisors who speak about the interaction and necessary integration of body, mind and spirit. The psalmist sets the stage by declaring: I bless the Lord who counsels me; even in the night my heart exhorts me…Therefore my heart is glad and my soul rejoices, my body, too, abides in confidence…(Ps. 16) Paul picks up the theme saying, “You were called for freedom, brothers and sisters. But do not use this freedom as an opportunity for the flesh; rather serve one another through love. For the whole law is fulfilled in one statement, namely, You shall love your neighbor as yourself. if you go on biting and devouring one another, beware that you are not consumed by one another.” (GAL 5:13-18)

Perhaps I’m stretching a point in my interpretation but it seems to me that putting the intention and the effort of making love at the center point of all our actions and dealings with one another does create harmony that manifests not only in our relationships but especially as a unifying, health-producing becoming in the three centers of our own body, mind and spirit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

