Tags

, , , , , , , ,

aholycardWhen I was young my Bible was a home for a collection of “holy cards” – some commemorating events or people who had died but others sporting prayers or poetry like “I am the mother of a priest…” (my grandmother) or “a prayer for religious vocations.” This morning as I read the text from the Book of Revelation in today’s lectionary, the beginning of one of those prayers popped into my mind. It said: “Today is mine to mar or make; O keep me strong and true…” I wondered where it came from but then looked again at REV 21:1-5 and really heard the visionary’s words proclaiming that God’s dwelling is with the human race…God will dwell with them and they will be his people…Behold, I make all things new. Following this covenantal statement was Jesus saying: I give you a new commandment: love one another. As I have loved you, so you also should love one another. This is how all will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another. (JN 13:34-35)

I realize more and more lately that living each day “like the first or the last one” (as John Denver once sang in his song about Alaska) is the only sane way to proceed. Doing our best is all God asks, I think, and all we should be asking of ourselves and others. Recognition that perfection is likely still out of our reach and making peace with that seems enough to go on as the sun comes back for another round, another chance at loving. So good luck to us today, I say, as we keep in mind whatever prayer of intention will “keep us strong and true.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

