Tags

, , , , , ,

awakeupToday is Monday and I’m working at home. I didn’t go to bed until after midnight last night so I took the liberty of not setting my alarm. Of course, my eyes opened enough at 6:30 to ask myself that residual question: to wake or not to wake? Knowing that I would regret going back to sleep, I gave in and got up. With my coffee I chose to see how my friend Jan Phillips framed the early hours of Monday in her book, No Ordinary Time, because I always find something worth pondering there. Today it was like a gold mine, speaking an answer to the question I was still struggling to fully live into as I faced the tasks I have set myself for the day. This paragraph was the crux of the message to me.

Waking up is not easy, but it is the only way to go if we want to live a life with any passion and punch. It means we have to give up blaming. Give up making others responsible for our happiness. Abandon the habit of judging people, dwelling in the negative. Waking up means being able to observe our life as if it were happening to someone else. It means thinking and speaking consciously, knowing that what we think and say on Tuesday becomes the life we live on Thursday. Waking up means we don’t see the other as better or less than ourselves. We see the other as our self.

Wherever you are in your day when you read this, take a moment to review what is not really a new message but rather a gathering of many familiar pieces of advice that when put together and said exactly in that way can be a powerful impetus for renewal of intention. Blessings to Jan today for all her good work, especially for seeing more conscious ways to live and sharing her creative skills in leading the way.

