Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

On this second Sunday of Advent, I am filled with the gospel acclamation: Prepare ye the way of the Lord! sung with drums and loud music in the score from either Godspell or Jesus Christ Superstar. (It’s been a long time since I have heard either but I can still feel the music – impossible to listen to sitting down!) I generally sense the days of Advent in a state of quiet anticipation but occasionally the magnitude of the promise breaks through and things get a little wild inside my heart.

I have that feeling this morning as we prepare to close another introductory wisdom school, this one very different from our experience of two weeks ago with 240 people. Here we have only eight participants but the time together has been similarly filled with grace. I often stop to marvel at the blessing that is mine to have such rare and yet frequent opportunities to gather with extraordinary people in order to deepen my consciousness of God working in the world and in my life.

So today I pray with Paul in his message to the Philippians that you may increase ever more and more in knowledge and every kind of perception, to discern what is of value, so that you may be filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ for the glory and praise of God. (Phil 1:8-11)

