Tags

, , , , , ,

whosayiamWhen I was a second year novice, I took a chance and defied the rules of “No adornments in the bedroom area” by taping a poster to the inside of my bedroom door. It wasn’t fancy, just a question in big letters:  I don’t know where I got the poster but I thought it was worth the risk of displaying it since no one was allowed in my room except the novice director on her occasional room inspections. Even she might miss it if she opened the door all the way when she entered. I wanted to ask myself every day the question that Jesus asked his close followers after they had told him what people “in the streets” were saying about his identity. In Luke’s gospel this question came relatively early (LK 9:18-22) so perhaps some of these chosen ones, having been drawn by his charisma and message, were still unsure of who he was exactly. This was one of Peter’s better moments as he was the only one to respond. The translations have varied over the years but the meaning of Peter’s statement is clear: You are the Christ, he says, the Messiah of God.

Having now spent many years of study and reflection about Jesus, attempting to deepen my relationship with him, I am always grateful when the question comes up in the daily lectionary readings so I can check in with myself about how we’re doing when he asks that all-important question which I have come to interpret as Who am I to you, Lois?

