Tags

, , , , , , ,

persevereI read this quote today from Meg Wheatley’s little book Perseverance and thought it a worthy “thought for the day.” It certainly is enough for me!

Perseverance is a choice. It’s not a simple, one-time choice, it’s a daily one. There’s never a final decision…Having to make a choice every day keeps us alert and present. Do I have the resources, internal and external, to keep going? Can I deal with what’s in front of me right now? Do I have any patience left? Is there a way through this mess? These critical questions require a momentary pause, a little reflection. Rather than just striking out or being reactive to a bad day, we offer ourselves freedom. Do I continue or do I give up? Even a brief pause creates the space for freedom. We’re not trapped by circumstances or fatigue. We give ourselves a moment to look as clearly as we can at the current situation. And then we make a conscious choice. Every day.

