Tags

, , , , , , , ,

hsmicComing late to this usually first of my daily tasks, I have had two significant conversations in the past four hours about honesty regarding feelings, especially about our responses to the requests (or even demands) others make of us or our time. It isn’t always easy to tell the truth in difficult situations, especially if the difficulty arises because of the good intentions of those who are telling us what would be good for us.

I found it interesting that the gospel verse for this morning from John’s gospel said, When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you to all truth and remind you of all I told you. Following that, Matthew records a message of Jesus to the disciples that says in part: …do not worry about how you are to speak or what you are to say. You will be given at that moment what you are to say. For it will not be you who speak but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.

Some would call that coincidence. I think, rather, that it is synchronicity and find it to be very good advice. Knowing that God “has our back,” so to speak, should make it easier to say what needs to be said in these situations. I’ll have to pass that along to my conversation partners of this morning.

