Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

narrowWhen I’m packing up for a trip, if I’m driving rather than going by plane, I often have several extraneous items in addition to a suitcase. It becomes sort of a game to see if I can carry everything to the car at once rather than making numerous trips. There have been occasions where maneuvering the suitcase as well as bags slung over my wrists and keys in my hand cause me to go sideways through the door of the house. Sometimes I have to admit defeat and leave something behind to retrieve when I have opened the car doors and come back for more. I thought of this today when I read the never-ending, amazing sermon that continues to deliver one-liners that are not to be ignored. This one is actually two verses long (MT 7:12-14) but worth consideration nonetheless. Jesus says, “Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the road broad that leads to destruction, and those who enter through it are many. How narrow the gate and constricted the road that leads to life. And those who find it are few.”

We have lots of choices in life. Sometimes I wish there were fewer – or even just one – so it would be easier to know what to do. I think of the two possibilities of travel to Hallelujah Farm in New Hampshire where some of our Wisdom Schools are held. While the New York State Thruway, the Massachusetts Turnpike and Interstate Route 91 is a speedier and wider route to take than Routes 7 & 9 through Vermont, I always choose the latter if I’m driving. Less traffic and more beauty are the criteria that I choose – even though if I get behind a truck on the two-lane road it necessitates patience. Limits call for attention – in travel and in life. Narrow roads, courageous actions, deep love…all take us out of monotony and the ordinary in our days, slowing us down to more mindful opportunities for response.

Oh, and the other line this morning is just one line, pertinent here for sure: Do to others whatever you would have them do to you. (MT 7:6) Safe travels, everyone.

