Tags

, , , , , , , ,

lovingenergyAs I read Psalm 34 this morning it was the refrain (vs. 19) that caught my attention and flooded me with images of faces near and far. There were families of murdered tour members in Tunisia, some in Israel who had hoped for a different election outcome and, closer to home, an e-mail from a friend letting me know that her dear cousin had succumbed to cancer. The depth and suffering of distress cannot be measured by me unless it is my own but my heart goes out today to all whose pain is a heavy burden, sometimes feeling too much to bear. I pray that they might take comfort in the faith of which the psalmist sings: The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and those that are crushed in spirit he saves. I call us all to carry this verse as a companion today so that each time it comes to mind and touches our hearts we might send out loving energy to those most in need of our prayer around the world or in our own back yards. It is, perhaps, the best we can do.

