Tags

, , ,

listentogodThis morning’s gospel from Mark 12 is the retelling of the two great commandments which are really two sides of the same coin: love of God and love of neighbor. Of course we should always have that message in mind. I was struck today, however, as I read (four times) the refrain of the responsorial psalm  which was: I am the Lord your God. Hear my voice. It was as if God was pleading for a hearing. Perhaps if the refrain had been all there was I might have missed that nuance but when, toward the end of the psalm, I read: If only my people would hear me! I would feed them with the best of wheat and with honey from the rock…(PS 81). It was like a wake up call that led me to ask myself how attentive I am to God’s voice – both as God speaks with inner promptings and also in the “neighbors” I meet during the day. How unfortunate if I missed those words of love and generosity streaming from every quarter simply because I was too preoccupied to notice!

