Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

earlydawnI woke early this morning. It seems as if God were taking my determination for today seriously (see yesterday’s post). I’m still not quite “on tiptoe” as I need my second cup of coffee for that but today’s Scripture texts and Thomas Merton have started the process. From Thomas Merton’s A Book of Hours by Kathleen Deignan, I read:

Sunrise is an event that calls forth solemn music in the very depths of man’s nature, as if one’s whole being had to attune itself to the cosmos and praise God for the new day, praise Him in the name of all the creatures that ever were or ever will be.

That’s a perfect accompaniment, I think, to Psalm 89 whose refrain for the day is: Forever I will sing the goodness of the Lord! There is a melody for that in my head which perhaps will last the day. The gospel that ends the long first chapter of Luke is another song, the Canticle of Zachariah, which is a beautiful expression of what today’s waiting is about. May the last verse be our companion through this, our vigil, to the brilliance of the coming of Emmanuel.

In the tender compassion of our God, the dawn from on high shall break upon us to shine on those who dwell in darkness and the shadow of death and to guide our feet into the way of peace.

