Tags

, , , , ,

onebodyYesterday I was talking with a group about talented people and we remarked at one point everyone has some talent – artistic, scientific, environmental/gardening, charismatic personality, etc. and that, in essence, “variety is the spice of life.” Paul is commenting on that in 1 COR 12 today. It’s interesting to me that there is a section missing in this long reading (maybe because it is so long). It’s my favorite part really (vs. 15-26) because that part is the most concrete and reminds me of how a parent might explain the whole concept to a child. It’s the section where Paul asks, “If the whole body were an eye, where would the hearing be? If the whole body were hearing, where would smelling be?…The eye can’t tell the hand, ‘I have no need for you’, or again the head to the feet, ‘I have no need for you…'” I have often been given to conjuring up images arising from this section and it makes me laugh – a huge eye with feet or some such distortion. But Paul’s point is very clear. We are all gifts to the world and to each other; our diversity should be considered as a strength and not a weakness. It is ours to find the beauty in each member because, as Paul concludes, “We, though many, are one body. So it is with Christ.” What a good and challenging place to start and to end: knowing we are all one in God!

