Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

flutistThis morning’s readings echo essentially what I said on Saturday, but Paul’s message is even more stark, it seems to me, when he says the following (1 Cor 2:1-5):

When I came to you, brothers and sisters, I did not come with sublimity of words or of wisdom. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you but Jesus Christ …my message and my proclamation were not with persuasive words of wisdom, but a demonstration of spirit and power, so that your faith might rest not on human wisdom but on the power of God.

This reminds me of the phrase that became popular some time ago: Let go and let God – which is catchy to say but not so easy to do. It is also reminiscent of my favorite chant from Wisdom School that I love to sing and hope someday to achieve. It says: I am a hole in a flute that the Christ breath moves through. Listen to this music; listen to this music. It seems that Paul had totally grasped that concept of becoming a conduit for the “music of life” that God provides when we are able to totally surrender our ego to the pure truth of love whose melody is known only to the heart.

And lest we think that this melody is all sunshine and flowers, the gospel for today (a perfect follow-on to Paul) tells the incident (Lk 4: 16-30) that occurs when Jesus stands up in the synagogue to read from Isaiah about bringing “good news to the poor” and says – in the manner of the prophet – that he has come for just that mission. Consequently, the crowd sought to destroy him for what they saw as blasphemy. So the truth will set us free but great courage is sometimes needed to remain focused on the message rather than the outcome. This, I would wager, is the on-going work of a lifetime.

 

