Tags

, , , , , , ,

whisperingThis morning’s first reading (1KGS 19:9-13) tells the story of the prophet Elijah when he took shelter in a cave on Horeb, the mountain of God. There God spoke to him  saying, “Go outside and stand on the mountain before the Lord; the Lord will be passing by.”  The rest of the reading tells of all the ways one might expect the voice of God to be heard in all its majesty – strong and heavy winds, earthquake, fire – but, the reading says, the Lord was not in any of these. After the fire there was a tiny whispering sound (sometimes translated as a gentle breeze). When he heard that sound, Elijah hid his face in his cloak and went and stood at the entrance to the cave. Elijah knew the power of God – that no one could see the face of God and live, thus he covered his face to approach God. He also, however, knew enough to expect God to visit him, not necessarily in such a powerful manifestation but perhaps in the gentleness of a breeze or a whisper.

Today as I go about my life, I will consider the many ways in which God manifests in my world as well as in the larger reality of our world and the cosmos. I will try to really pay attention so I don’t miss the tiny whisperings while I’m waiting for the thunderous moments of this magnificent, personal, kind and gentle God.

 

