This morning’s first reading from the prophet Micah (6:8) is a short formula for how to live a good life. It says simply: “This is what the Lord asks of you: to do the right, love goodness and walk humbly with your God.” There are various translations of these imperatives but I have never read the last – walking humbly – translated any other way. That is instructive for me since I consider that one as the least subjective of the three. For instance, we may sometimes differ in what we think right action is or what constitutes goodness, but if we choose God as our companion and spend our lives in the presence and on the path with our Beloved Companion, it would be difficult to do that in a selfish or prideful manner. At least that’s how it seems to me. Humility is truth: knowing ourselves honestly and acting out of that knowledge. If this is correct, we would necessarily see the difference between ourselves and God as we walk along – without judgment of the difference but in joy that God chooses to walk with us. Humility would naturally follow from that recognition.

I’ll be thinking about that today with every conscious step I take.

